Wild Water Adventures Tralee

Sponsor of 

The ILDSA 2019 Páiric Casey Munster Swimmer of the Year Award 

which will be presented at the ILDSA Awards held at the Trident Hotel, Kinsale, Cork on 29th February 2019


Elaine Burrows Dillane

Carol Cashell

Ned Denison

Rosie Foley

Philip King

Anna McCarthy

John and Michaela Edwards Wild Water Adventures, Tursillagh, Kielduff, Tralee, V92H2FD Tel: 0879101290Wild Water Adventures Tralee  Sponsor of  The ILDSA 2019 Páiric Casey Munster Swimmer of the Year Award

The ILDSA AGM 1st December  2019 12:00-14:00

Venue Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport

This is for open water swimmers who want to make a difference to the Open Water Community throughout Ireland.   You are not required to be a member of the ILDSA to attend the AGM.

The proposed ILDSA vision

The vision for the Irish Long Distance swimming Association in 2020 will include:

1. To research the history of open water swimming in Ireland making a database available online of completed swims.

There will be a team tasked to complete the research in each region.  This information will then be published on the ILDSA website and will constantly grow, beginning with 25K plus swims and then 15K swims etc as and when we feel we have most of the history collected.

2. To be involved in open water swimming throughout Ireland by ratifying any adventures swims that meet ILDSA rules.

3. To help develop a framework for Open Water Race organisers and swimmers to use to organise swimming events.

In this ever demanding world of insurance we will help improve risk assessments, method statements, emergency action plans and have best practice information available which will help to reduce insurance costs as well as offer  advice on insurance companies which are the most competitive in the market.

The ILDSA committee will have other important developments for the long established ratification of the North channel Marathon Down and as host for the Lough Erne events.

Meetings of the ILDSA COMMITTEE

The committee will not be required to host physical meetings. Meetings will be held remotely over the period of 2020 which will allow the ILDSA to encompass regional, national and international membership.
·         Order of the day
·         Previous AGM minutes
·         Presidents report
·         North Channel Report
·         Accounts summary
·         Recorder Report
·         Chairperson's Report

Elections for:
·         Vacant Posts

This is exciting time for the Irish long distance swimming Association. If you feel you have the ability to offer some of your time over 2020 we and the community of open water swimming welcome you and your participation in this growth and development.

I can guarantee a fresh new approach to the role of a committee member.

If you feel you have something to offer and are unable to travel to the AGM we will also offer remote access to anyone who has pre-arranged this so you can be involved.

I look forward to meeting you all beginning a new chapter of open water swimming within Ireland with the ILDSA.

Pádraig Mallon ILDSA 2019 Chairperson


In celebration of achievements in open water regionally,  nationally and internationally in 2019 we invite proposals for: 

ILDSA 2019 Annual Award sponsors  

ILDSA 2019 Award nominees for the following: 

  • Junior newcomer of the year Male
  • Junior newcomer of the year Female 
  • Senior newcomer of the year Male
  • Senior newcomer of the year Female 
  • Ted Keenan Ulster open water swimmer of the year
  • Páraic Casey Munster open water swimmer of the year
  • Connaught open water swimmer of the year
  • Leinster open water swimmer of the year
  • Best organised open water swim 
  • Sheena Patterson Spirit of open water swimming award 
  • Margaret Smith Award
  • Open water performance of the year
  • Junior open water swimmer of the year Male 
  • Junior open water swimmer of the year Female 
  • Senior open water swimmer of the year Male 
  • Senior open water swimmer of the year Female 
  • Shane Moraghan Award for Best Overseas performance by an Irish open water / marathon swimmer 

Nominations should reach ILDSA by 1.12.2019 when the final selection will be made and available for public voting.

Email your nominations to: 
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  

If you or your business are interested in sponsoring an award please email for further details to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  

Please share this post and help celebrate the success of open water swimming for Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connaught

Conditions were perfect, a lovely warm evening, no wind and a flat calm sea.
The swimmers started off from the slipway as usual around a triangular course marked out with large red buoys, four laps of which was 1200 metres.
All swimmers finished the course, watched over by the safety rib and crew.
Hot vegetable broth was provided by the sailing club followed by the prize giving and a few short 


Nadine Wallace

Colin Lindsay ( CSC Perpetual Cup ) 22:02
David Adams 33:40



DalRiata Medal


The Dál Riata Channel Swim, previously known as the Mull of Kintyre Swim, is a newer and shorter 17 km (10.5-mile) channel swim and was pioneered by Wayne Soutter from Mull of Kintyre in Scotland to Ballycastle in Northern Ireland on 26 August 2012 in 12 hours 11 minutes. The first attempt having been made by Mercedes Gleitze in 1928.







Solo skins swims have included Wayne Soutter from South Africa swiming Scotland to Ireland on the 26th August 2012 in a time of 12:11.00, followed by a successful crossing by Irish based swimmer, Sabrina Wiedmer from Switzerland.  Having swam Scotland ot Ireland on the 29th August 2016 in a time of 8:30.07.







The channel has also been completed by a number of skins/wetsuit relay teams including:

Relay Swims Skins









Team Riptide



Scotland to Ireland


Relay Swims Wetsuits



210′ South West



Scotland to Ireland



One Day Wonders



Scotland to Ireland